Return to: UMC Home
UMC
 
UMC Library
 
 
Library Home > Databases by Subject > Databases Alphabetical
UMC Library Databases (Alphabetical)

Click here to view Databases by Subject

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

A

Academic Search Premier - contains indexing for nearly 8,050 publications, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. PDF back files to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. Academic Search Premier contains full text coverage in biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, etc. (Partial Full Text) Logo and link to Ebsco databases
 

AccessUN (1945-2007) - The index to United Nations documents including Official Records, documents, draft resolutions, meeting records, and the UN Treaty Series citations. A related database is  AccessUNDP (1972-1998) which is the index to a collection of United Nations Development Programme Project Reports issued and held by UN headquarters between the years 1972-1998.

Accounting Literature -  LEXISNEXIS® Academic accounting seach page which provides full text access to journals and other resources in the area of accounting.

AgEcon - This index covers agricultural economics.  It includes bibliographic citations plus full text of staff/working papers from several universities and U.S. (Partial Full Text)

Agricola   - Search this definitive bibliographic database for all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines. Contains citations to books, audiovisual materials, serial publications, journal articles, books chapters, reports, and reprints. Proquest logo and link to database list

Agricultural Journals -  Search journals in agriculture and related fields with the Agricola documents. (Partial full text) Proquest logo and link to database list

Alt-Press Watch (APW)

A full text database comprised of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. Proquest logo and link to database list

Anthropological Index Online - The Anthropological Index to Current Periodicals in the Anthropology Library at the British Museum. (Full Text)

APS Online - Over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals.  (Full Text) Proquest logo and link to database list

Archives of Americana -

This family of historical collections contains books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera printed in America over three centuries.

Archives USA - Access to holdings and contact information of more than 5,400 repositories. Indexes to 124,466 special collections. (Full Text)


B

 

BioOne  - A full-text online aggregation of some 40 high-impact, peer-reviewed bioscience research journals, covering the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. The titles are published by scientific societies and other nonprofit organizations, and most have, until now, been available only in print.

Biosis Previews - and Biological Abstracts - Monitors every area of the life sciences, abstracting and indexing in every available field and covers articles from over 3,700 serials each year. This interdisciplinary and in-depth approach to life sciences connects researchers with critical journal coverage on topics from agriculture and botany to microbiology to pharmacology.  Biosis Previews is updated weekly and is more current than Biological AbstractsBiological Abstracts coverage begins in 1980, Biosis Previews begins in 1996.

 

Business and Company Resource Center  - Business and Company Resource Center is a fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Gale infotrac database logo and link to database list 
 

Business File ASAP  - Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Access to a combination of broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings with full text and images available. (Partial Full Text) Gale infotrac database logo and link to database list

Business Source Premier  - Contains 2,804 full text scholarly journals and business periodicals covering management, marketing, economics, finance, accounting, international business, etc.  (Full Text). Use the Enhanced Business Searching Interface - EBSCOhost to search by specific company (DataMonitor company reports).  Logo and link to Ebsco databases


C

 

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (U.S. GPO) - The Catalog of United States Government publications indexes print and electronic Government information products created by Federal agencies including reports, books, and articles. (Citations and Abstracts Only)

Chadwyck-Healey Collection

  • American Poetry Database The American Poetry Full-Text Database features the works of more than 200 American poets, along with six landmark anthologies of American poetry. The database gathers the works of the most influential American poets, from the Colonial period to the early twentieth century.
  • Database of African-American Poetry This database covers the works of 54 African-American poets writing in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries and, through their writings, provides a unique portrait of early America.
  • English Poetry Database This database comprises the works of almost 1,350 poets from 600-1900.

  • English Verse Drama Database English Verse Drama contains more than 2,000 works by around 450 named authors and approximately 230 anonymous works, from the Shrewsbury Fragments of the late thirteenth century to the end of the nineteenth century.

Checkpoint® system. Checkpoint® is a tax and accounting research resource. It provides access to the federal tax laws, cases and regulations as well as news and analysis of these laws and regulations.

 

Communication & Mass Media Complete - Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media.  Communication & Mass Media Complete provides an invaluable resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in any and all aspects of communication and mass media.  Logo and link to Ebsco databases

Compendex -Provides worldwide coverage of significant applied engineering and technology literature. (Partial Full Text)

Computer Database - Use this database to find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology. (Partial Full Text) Gale infotrac database logo and link to database list

 

Criminal Justice Periodicals - Search a comprehensive collection of U.S. and international criminal justice journals including information for professionals in law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security. (Partial Full Text) Proquest logo and link to database list




D

Discovering Collection - Provides in-depth content for five core curriculum areas, specifically literature, history, biography, science, and social studies. The Discovering Collection is aimed at grades 6-12 and contains all the content in Junior Reference Collection plus the DISCovering products to offer thousands of overview essays, literary criticisms, timelines, primary source documents, audio and video clips, and over 15,000 maps, images, and flags.

Dissertation Abstracts    - consists of more than two million entries for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350- word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Most recent titles have free twenty-four page previews. (Citations and Abstracts Only) Proquest logo and link to database list)

Dissertation Abstracts@CIC Institutions (with text) - This is a subset of the Dissertation Abstracts database above which has links the complete text of recent theses from the University of Minnesota and other large research universities that belong to the CIC cooperative (University of Michigan, Ohio State University, Indiana University, University of Chicago, University of Wisconsin, University of Iowa, Pennsylvania State University, Michigan State University and others).


E

 

Early English Books Online (EEBO) - contains over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard and Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661), and the Early English Tract Supplement - all in full digital facsimile from the Early English Books microfilm collection

Ebsco MegaFile - EBSCO MegaFILE is a multi-disciplinary database providing full text for nearly 12,000 total publications and indexing & abstracting for more than 16,000 publications. Coverage spans every area of academic study and general interest subject area and offers information dating as far back as the 1800s. In addition, the database contains more than 84,000 biographies, 86,000 primary source documents, 10,000 company profiles and an image collection of more than 107,000 photos, maps and flags. MegaFILE is comprised of EBSCO’s Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, MasterFILE Premier and Regional Business News databases. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.  Logo and link to Ebsco databases

Education Journals  -  Search the leading full-text journals in education and related fields. (Full Text) Proquest logo and link to database list


Emerald Management Xtra - Emerald Management Xtra is Emerald's largest, most comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed management journals and online support for librarians, students, faculty, researchers and deans. It features 150 full text journals and reviews from the world’s top 300 management journals.


Encyclopedia Americana and Grolier's Multimedia Encyclopedia

Encyclopedia Britannica

 

ERIC - The world's largest source of education information. The database contains more than one million abstracts of education-related documents and journal articles, compiled by the Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC). Proquest logo and link to database list

ERIC - Education Resource Information Center -  This includes the full text of over a million full text documents (ED's)

Ethnic NewsWatch (ENW)

An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses. This current database begins its coverage in 1990. Proquest logo and link to database list

Expanded Academic ASAP - From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images! Gale infotrac database logo and link to database list


F

 

First Monday - Is one of the first free, openly accessible, peer–reviewed journals on the Internet, solely devoted to the Internet.

 

Flowering Plant Index - Searches over 150 periodicals and selected books. (Full Text)


G

 

Gallop Brain - The Gallup Brain is a searchable, living record of more than 70 years of public opinion. Inside, you'll find answers to hundreds of thousands of questions, and responses from millions of people interviewed by The Gallup Poll since 1935.

General Reference Center Gold - A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources in one easy-to-use interface. Use General Reference Center Gold to find articles from newspapers, reference books, and periodicals, many with full-text and images. Find the latest current events, popular culture, business and industry coverage, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more. (Partial Full Text) Gale infotrac database logo and link to database list

Google Scholar (Beta) - A Google search engine which indexes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and other scholarly literature from a variety of academic publishers and professional societies, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. UMC Library has enabled linking to the full text of articles located in Google Scholar using FindIt the UMC Library Linking service.


H

 

Health and Medicine in the News - Health and Medicine in the News provides quick access to journal literature and meeting abstracts on subjects discussed in health and medicine newspaper articles. (Citations and Abstracts Only)

 

Health Reference Center Academic - Use this database to find articles on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only. Gale infotrac database logo and link to database list
 

HighWire - Hosts the largest repository of free full-text life science (including the  health sciences) articles in the world. (Partial Full Text)

Historical Newspapers are a part of the Gale Digital Collections and include:

  • The Times Digital Archive 1785 - 1985 Complete digital edition of The Times (London). The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
  • 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. The 700 or so bound volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets were published mostly in London, however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.
  • 19th Century British Library Newspapers contains full runs of 48 influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of the 19th century British society.
  • Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers are digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities, researchers will be able to research history in ways previously unavailable. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
  • The Economist Historical Archive 1843-2003 is the fully searchable complete facsimile edition of The Economist, the weekly paper which is essential reading for anyone engaged in politics, current affairs and all aspects of business and trade worldwide.

Historical Statistics of the United States - The online version of the Millennial Edition of Historical Statistics of the United States is the single most comprehensive compendium of historical U.S. statistics available. It covers the social, economic, political and geographic data collected by the Census Bureau and other agencies of the United States govenment. Each chapter provides extensive documentation for the sources of the statistics. Data can downloaded in Excel or CSV.  Custom tables can be created which can also be downloaded, printed, or graphed. 

Hospitality and Tourism Index - provides full text for more 130 unique hospitality and tourism publications and indexing & abstracting covering scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. In addition the full text in this database there are links to text for many of the other titles indexed.  This comprehensive database contains more than 490,000 records from 500 titles, with coverage going back to the mid 1960s. Logo and link to Ebsco databases


I

 

IBIDS - International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements - IBIDS contains bibliographic records, including abstracts published in international scientific journals on the topic of dietary supplements, including vitamins, minerals, herbal and botanical supplements from the Office of Dietary Supplements at the NIH. (Citations and Abstracts Only)

IEEE -  Includes the following publication categories: IEEE magazines, IEEE Computer Society magazines since about 1997, IEEE Computer Society conference proceedings since about 1998, IEEE Communications Society journals and magazines since about 1997 and IEEE

Standards. (Full Text)

In the First Person - In the First Person is a high quality, professionally published, in-depth index of close to 4,000 collections of personal narratives in English from around the world.

Informe!  - English Version - Was created exclusively for Spanish-speaking users, providing indexing, images, and full text of popular Hispanic magazines—not just translations. Also included is a thesaurus and interface that are uniquely designed for Spanish-speaking users. (Partial Full Text) Gale infotrac database logo and link to database list

Informe!—Spanish version - Gale infotrac database logo and link to database list
 

InfoTrac Junior Edition (Middle Schools) - Use this database designed for schools, to search magazines, newspapers, and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, etc. Gale infotrac database logo and link to database list

InfoTrac OneFile - A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily. Gale infotrac database logo and link to database list
 

InfoTrac Student Edition - Use this database designed for schools, to search magazines, newspapers, and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, etc. Gale infotrac database logo and link to database list


J

 

JSTOR - Full text to over 100 scholarly journals. (Full Text)

Junior Reference Collection -  With nearly 12,000 documents, 8,500 photographs and illustrations, 50 video and audio clips, and 3 complete Merriam-Webster's dictionaries (Collegiate, Biographical, and Geographical), the Junior Reference Collection is a complete reference source. The Junior Reference Collection is a comprehensive, cross-curricular research tool that combines the following U*X*L products into one database that is simple to navigate, easy to comprehend, and supports classroom learning. The JRC's search paths are distinguished by subject area—People, Places, Subjects, Authors, Books, Timeline—and the results are categorized by document type—Overview Essay, Biography, and Timeline Event.Gale infotrac database logo and link to database list


K

 

Kids InfoBits   Kids InfoBits is a database developed especially for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5. Featuring a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, the most popular search method is moving from a broad subject to a narrower topic using the subject-based topic tree. The curriculum-related, age appropriate, full-text content is from the best elementary reference sources and magazines. This database covers geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more. Gale infotrac database logo and link to database list

Kid's Edition - K12   
Formerly PrimaryTOM, this periodical database with almost 125 titles, is designed for elementary school students, with easy access to full-text magazines, from publishers such as Cobblestones and Scholastic and Time, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more. Gale infotrac database logo and link to database list

Kluwer Online was acquired Springer and access to Kluwer titles is via  SpringerLink which incorporates the combined journal collections of both publishers to provide access to some of the world's leading scientific, technical, and medical journals. A browse list of titles is available on the SpringerLink home page.

 

KCDL Online Kraus (PreK-12) Curriculum Development Library is a database of materials on subjects covered in PreK-12 including curricula, frameworks, and standards that brings together educational objectives, content, instructional strategies, and evaluative techniques. The database indexes materials for a print/microfiche collection which can be obtained in print and contains most recent materials as full text documents. 


 


L

 

LEXISNEXIS® Academic - Contains full-text documents from over 6,000 news, business, and legal publications, with a variety of flexible search options. The default search page is to general news sources. In addition there are specialized search pages for:

  • News which searches more than 1000 newspapers, newsletters and journals.  
  • Legal search tab provides  access to  case law, statutes and regulations and to legal news and  law reviews.
  • Business search tab provides access to business and financial news, company financial information, market research, industry reports, and actual SEC filings. Search features permit comparison of companies based on criteria such as sales, income and number of employees.
  • People tab permits searching for biographical information from directories and other information sources. (Full Text)

 

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts Library/Information Sciences & Technology Abstracts (LISTA). Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, and information management, the information industry. LISTA indexes more than 600 periodicals plus books, research reports, and proceedings. Logo and link to Ebsco databases


M

 

MasterFILE Premier -   MasterFILE Premier contains full text for 2,053 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. This database also contains full text for more than 350 reference books, 84,074 biographies, 86,132 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 107,135 photos, maps and flags. MasterFILE Premier now offers PDF back files (as far back as 1975) for key publications including American Libraries, Foreign Affairs, History Today, Judaism, Library Journal, National Review, Saturday Evening Post, etc. Logo and link to Ebsco databases

MLA International Bibliography  - MLA indexes material that relates to all forms of human communication. Topics include literary criticism and theory, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. The items indexed date back to the 1920s. The index contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers.


N

 

National Criminal Justice Abstracts Database - The National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database contains summaries of more than 150,000 criminal justice publications, including Federal, State, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. (Partial Full Text)

New York Times Historical Database - The New York Times (1851-2001) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Proquest logo and link to database list

Newspaper Search - Access full-text articles from 5 major newspapers: the Minneapolis Star Tribune, The Los Angeles Times, The New York Times (90-day rolling file only of full text), The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.  It also includes articles from a number of other regional newspapers. Proquest logo and link to database list


O

 


P

 

PLANTS National Database - Provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. It includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, plant links, references, crop information, and automated tools.

Plant Management Network - Indexing thousands of web-based resources, the PMN Plant Science Database provides quick and easy access to fact sheets, newsletters, product listings, training resources, and related information. The database indexes all articles published in Plant Health Progress, Forage and Grazinglands, and Crop Management, and thousands of web-based resources hosted at PMN's partner university, company, and association websites.

Professional Collection -  A custom selection of more than 300 full text journals for educators that is updated daily and provides 24-hour access from school or home. It offers balanced coverage for any professional educator in the following areas: arts and humanities; child and adolescent psychology and development; drug and alcohol abuse; health/nutrition/fitness; learning disabilities; literature; school law; science and technology; social sciences; and sports/athletic training. Gale infotrac database logo and link to database list

Project Muse Journals in Full Text - Provides networked, subscription access to the full text of the Johns Hopkins University Press's 40+ scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. (Full Text)

Psychology Journals  - With complete full-text coverage from top psychology and related publications, this database meets the needs of both students and mental-health professionals.

PubMed - Provides access to the more than 10 million citations in Medline and related databases. The PubMed URL (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/sites/entrez?otool=mnumclib) found on this page is unique to the UMC Library. Using this URL enables FindIt, the UMC Library Linking service and connects the PubMed citation to the text of the article.


Q

 


R

Research reports Minnesota DNR - hundreds of research projects that provide natural resource managers and the public with information useful in conserving the state's nongame wildlife and rare plant and animal resources


S

 

Sage Full-Text Collections consist of eleven discipline specific research databases of peer-reviewed journals from SAGE Publications and participating societies.  These databases include more than 230 peer-reviewed journals, 80,000 plus articles, book reviews, and editorials, with all of the original graphics, tables and page numbers. Each dicipline specific database can be searched individually. These include: Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Management & Organization Studies, Materials ScienceNursingPolitical Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies.

  • To search all of the Sage Full-Text Collections as a single database connect to the Alphabetical List, click mark all on page to select the databases and click Continue to search.

St. Paul Pioneer Press - Comprehensive coverage of issues that affect St. Paul, Minnesota, the Twin Cities and the nation.

Scholarly Journals on the Web (Full Text)

Science.gov - Science.gov is a gateway to over 50 million pages of authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results.

ScienceDirect -  This database contains full text, citations and abstracts from over 1100  journals.  The Elsevier Science journal collection on ScienceDirect covers a wide spectrum of disciplines including Chemistry, Materials science, Engineering & technology, Environmental science, Economics, Business & management science, Neurosciences, Pharmacology & toxicology, Physics, Mathematics & computer science, Earth sciences, Social sciences, Biochemistry, Microbiology & immunology, Biological sciences and Clinical medicine. (Full Text)

Scirus  a comprehensive science-specific search engine which searches over 167 million science-specific Web pages. Scirus also indexes thousands of journals from hundreds of publishers.   In order to provide access to the text of the journal articles UMC Library has partnered with Scirus to enable the FindIt service in Scirus.  To take advantage of this partnership go to the Scirus home page, select Search Preferences, check enable and select University of Minnesota, Crookston from the list of partners and save your preferences.

Smoking & Health Database - Focuses on the scientific, medical, technical, policy, behavioral, legal, and historical literature related to smoking and tobacco use and its effect on health. (Citations and Abstracts Only)

Social Sciences in Forestry - This database indexes publications in 41 subject areas relating the social sciences to forestry. Among them are: legislation, policy and planning, management, economic development, investment and finance. (Partial Full Text)

Sports Discus -  Provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre, SPORTDiscus offers comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. This database contains over 650,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800. Logo and link to Ebsco databases

SpringerLink acquired Kluwer Online and combined the journal collections of both publishers to provide access to some of the world's leading scientific, technical, and medical journals. A simple seach interface is available with a link to an advanced search. A browse list of titles is available on the SpringerLink home page.


T

Teacher Reference Center  - This index of over 260 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books is offered free via the EBSCOhost platform. This database provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more. Logo and link to Ebsco databases

 

Thomson Gale PowerSearch - PowerSearch searches all (or a selected subset) of the Thompson Gale Infotrac databases. Select the databases you wish to search and click the Submit button.

The databases searched are:   Computer Database, Expanded Academic ASAP, General Business File ASAP, General Reference Center Gold, Health Reference Center Academic , InfoTrac OneFile, Informe 1994 - current (Espaniol | Spanish Interface) and the Professional Collection.

Turfgrass Information Center  -   Turfgrass Information File (TGIF) provides bibliographic and descriptive records of all types of works related to turfgrass culture including journals, monographs, fact sheets and pamphlets, images, and web documents. Most records in TGIF contain informative abstracts; some contain full text or are linked to web-accessible full text.


U

 

Urban Forestry - Indexes publications relating to the history of urban forestry; urban forest legislation; the benefits of urban forests, selection and planting of trees; maintenance of the urban forest; planning and management; and urban forestry programs. (Partial Full Text)


V

 


W

 

Wiley InterScience    - Wiley InterScience  provides online access to nearly all of John Wiley & Sons' scientific, technical, medical and professional journals.  Subjects covered include: Chemistry, Medicine, Business, Finance, and Management, Computer Science, Earth Science, Education, Engineering, Law, Life and Medical Sciences, Mathematics & Statistics, Physics, and Psychology. (Full Text)


X

 


Y

 


Z

 

 
Comment this page